Whether it’s the best of times or the worst of times, it’s the only time we’ve got. – Art Buchwald

Today is the start of a new week and you’ll be happy to know, I have a better outlook on living here. It’s hard adjusting to Jim not being here, but we are past the halfway mark and it’s all downhill until June 15, when he finishes training.This past weekend I was lucky enough to meet up with Jim in Yongson. It took him about an hour on the subway to get there and it took me about an hour and fifty minutes on the bus. We were able to stay on post, there, for the night and our room was ready for check-in at 10:00 A.M.! Another bonus was that there was a wedding taking place at the hotel in the courtyard. I creepily watched from the lobby while I was waiting for Jim to arrive.

Once Jim arrived, we ventured out into Seoul and took the subway, line 4, to Seoul Grand Park, about 20 minutes from our hotel.

As we got off the subway we were amazed by our surroundings, mountains every which way we looked and street food lining the walkway.

We were on a quest to go to the Seoul Zoo. Jim and I love zoos. This is the third zoo that we have gone to together. We have also explored The Gulf Breeze Zoo in Pensacola, FL and The San Diego Zoo. We will be going to The Cape May Zoo in September while he  is on leave.

The zoo was great! Bigger than any other zoo we have ever been to. There was a lot of walking to do and a lot of hills to climb, so wear appropriate footwear, not flip flops like me. The zoo had the regular animals that you see at all zoos such as tigers, lions, bears, and so on, but there were also some really neat animals that aren’t at all zoos.

The elephants in this zoo were Asian elephants, you can tell by the size of the ears which kind of elephant it is. I was trying to remember if I had ever seen one before, but I decided I never have (an Asian elephant, not an elephant in general.)

I had never heard of or seen this bird before. I wish I could remember the name, but sadly, I can’t. All I know it, it’s creepy and I would not want to see it flying around New Jersey.

I have been in love with giraffes for a long time and used to have a blog called the spotted giraffe. We were also able to feed the giraffes at The Gulf Breeze Zoo, which was a great experience. When we saw these giraffes we thought that their spots were darker than the spots giraffes have back in the states. They seemed to be posing for pictures the whole time we were watching them.

Along with all of the amazing animals the Seoul Zoo had to offer, came beautiful scenic views and shady spots to hang out in and have a picnic. Jim and I want to go back again and see the rest of the zoo, as well as, enjoy the beauty of nature, there.

We took a sky-lift from the end of the zoo to the front gate. Like I said, there was TONS of walking involved in this day trip and the lift was a nice relaxing trip (and when I say relaxing I really mean terrifying because we were so high up!) back to where we started. We weren’t able to see the whole zoo in one day, but we were able to see many of the animals we missed from the sky. We will definitely be going back.

We were able to buy a ticket to the zoo, a sky-lift ticket, and a tram car ticket for 8,000 won each. The tram car took us from the ticket office to the zoo. You can also take the tram car to Seoul Land. We will be visiting this theme park soon, as well.  Seoul Land is basically the Epcot of South Korea, not even kidding, they have a big golf ball too!

Food at the zoo was really cheap and bottles of water were only 1,000 won each. Bottled water for less than a dollar? Yes, please!

These are my words to you: Be not afraid of life. Believe that life is worth living, and your belief will help create that fact. – William James

 

One thought on “Whether it’s the best of times or the worst of times, it’s the only time we’ve got. – Art Buchwald

  1. Kathleen Gilligan says:

    Yay zoos! Love the picture of the giraffes 🙂 Um and it is crazy how big that zoo looks/sounds from your pictures and description. Very cool though. I wonder how long it would take to see everything!!? I am hoping to get back to the Philly zoo sometime this year… haven’t been for awhile. I am so bummed they no longer have elephants–one of my favorite animals up there with giraffes and penguins.

Leave a Reply

