Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. – Buddha

Myths and truths about South Korea

Everyone speaks English: lie. The language barrier is really hard to get used to. But you just accept it and move on. So I can’t understand signs and people? I have managed to get by without knowing more than hello and thank you.

The electronics are SO cheap in Korea: not true. I haven’t found anything cheaper here than in the states. As far as I can see, electronics are still expensive here and sometimes, even more expensive. I must admit, their high-tech TV’s are pretty cool though.

The wi-fi/internet is great in Korea: where? I haven’t had exceptional service anywhere. Okay, you do get service on the subway, which is handy, but how come skyping sucks and so does g-chat? We constantly lose our connection and my Slingbox keeps freezing in the middle of season finales! Where is the spectacular wi-fi?

Clothes are so cheap in Korea: If you’re small then this is a shopper’s dream, and when I say small I mean zero-four. I am about a five-six and I don’t think I’ll fit into most of the clothes being sold here.

Things that are true in Korea that I do actually enjoy:

The food is good: yes it is, and cheap. Jim and I can go out and eat tons of food and still only pay less than 20,000 won (less than $20) for it all. I do enjoy trying new things, not fish like this:

But, I do enjoy a variety of options like this:

The public transportation here is great and really affordable: yes, but it takes a while to get to all of the fun and pretty stuff that Korea has to offer. We are not that close to Seoul.

Here we are standing if front of the Cheonggyecheon,  which opened in 2005 as an urban renewal project in the center of Seoul. “Cheon” means river in Korean.

To get here, we had to take a bus from post to the train station, a 50 minute train ride, and then a 15 minute subway ride. Was it worth it, yes. Would we do it every weekend, no.

On our visit to Seoul, we went to a Buddhist Temple. It was Buddha’s Birthday this past Monday, and there was a lantern festival going on in Insadong, a touristy area that included a lot of tea houses.


Buddhists come from all over the world to celebrate Buddha’s Birthday in Korea.


Insadong street was covered with colorful lanterns, just like most of Korea was, for Buddha’s  Birthday.

I’m soaking in the culture, getting out as much as I can, and trying to make the most out of our stay in Korea. Some days are better than others(If you read the post below this, it is very upbeat. As you can tell, I am probably just having a bad day and decided to rant on my blog. I’m sure I will be more positive next time!). I love our apartment and I love being with Jim, even though, right now, he is away for 24 days for more training.

Being in Korea and being apart of the military life is a lot harder than I thought it would be. But, these are the days that make us who we are and who will be.

We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves. – Buddha

4 thoughts on “Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. – Buddha

  1. Kathleen Gilligan says:

    I probably don’t say it enough, but I think you are very brave for basically immersing yourself in Korean culture. I cannot imagine having to deal with the language barrier on a day to day basis–especially one written in characters as opposed to letters. I was in France for 9 days and had a hard enough time–and honestly there tons of people spoke English (I actually couldn’t believe how many!).

    I’m super happy you’re enjoying the food. That’s the other thing I’d be wary of… I’m so not adventurous… and would not be eating those fish either haha.

    The things you do for love, huh? But speaking of love…. let me know when you guys take a road trip and check out that ummm special ‘theme park’ lol.

    hugs!

Leave a Reply

