Imperfection is beauty; madness is genius. And it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring. -Marilyn Monroe

I’m sure people wonder what I do all the time now that I am a college graduate, unemployed, and living in a foreign county. Well have no fear, my friends and  family, I have managed to fill up my days while Jim is at work.

I have been in Korea for exactly two months and it’s very rare that I am bored. I must admit, I am extremely bored right now but this is only because Jim is working a few late nights in a row. Normally though, Jim is home by now and  we are watching Jeopardy, which we tape on our awesome Slingbox.

Most mornings, I start off by going to the gym for Step & Sculpt, Aqua Fit, or Zumba. On mornings that I skip the gym, I usually Skype with family and friends from back home, since my morning is their night-time.

Most days after the gym, I head over to the PX or Commissary with some friends.  One of us usually needs something and if we don’t, we find something we will need eventually.

After the gym, every other Wednesday, I volunteer at USO for their Lunchbox event. This free lunch is donated by a group and is then cooked and served to Soldiers, their families, and civilians that work on post. It’s a great opportunity to give back to the people who give me so much!

On  Wednesdays that I don’t volunteer, I attend lunch with the ladies which is an organized lunch that happens every Wednesday at a local restaurant. Wives meet up to talk and try new foods.

After the gym and shopping, I head home to clean the apartment. There are always dishes in the sink that need to be washed and the floor always needs to be swept.

Dust is everywhere in Korea and since we are trying to hold off on putting the air conditioner on in the apartment, the windows are always open. By having the windows open almost 24 hours a day, yellow dust sneaks its way onto everything. surprisingly though, at least so far, my allergies have been better here. Shocking, but true.

After cleaning the apartment, I catch up on my shows on Slingbox, pretty much the best invention ever. I can watch the cable that my parents have in their house and record shows to DVR. It doesn’t get any better than that. We even get to watch the Phillies games while we are eating breakfast on Jim’s days off.

On Mondays and Thursdays, I prepare lessons for two Korean children that I just started to tutor. They come from 5-6. I am fortunate enough to be able to print worksheets at the library. I have been doing that a few times a week and borrowing books for the children to read. This week we read The Cat in the Hat (this video is hilarious because Justin Bieber is reading the book, and he likes to ad-lib every once in a while, which is totally unnecessary.)

On most days, I start dinner around 6. Jim is either home by then, or is just getting home. I am so lucky that I get to eat dinner with jim 95 % of the time. Breakfast, on the other hand, is usually not in the cards because he gets up way before me.

Random days involve going to the street market (every 5 days,) going to meetings, and shopping in Pyeongtaek.

The pool on post opens this Saturday, and I am going to buy a half season pass.  Hopefully, monsoon season doesn’t hit too hard this year, as it has in the past, and I will be able to enjoy the pool a few times a week. It’s not the Pensacola Beach, but beggars can’t be choosers, I’m just lucky they have lawn chairs that I can lay on.

Those are my days in a nutshell. Jim typically works 6 days on and 3 days off. When he is off, we try to do some exploring. We also watch a lot of movies, which we buy for $3.

Korea isn’t as bad as a lot of people say it is. Do I want to live here forever??? No…but I will make it until November 2013. Just like in the states, life is what you make of it. Yes, Korea would suck if I didn’t have any friends and didn’t feel like walking to and from post every day (we did just get a car though, too bad it’s a stick and I can’t drive stick,) but it is what it is.

Modern technology has made the distance between our family and friends tolerable. We use Skype, email, Facebook , and Viber (to text for free and make phone calls.)

I do not regret, not even for one moment, moving to Korea. I am with the man I love, the man I married, and when you’re married, being apart isn’t an option, at least it shouldn’t be. Yes, deployments happen, but Korea doesn’t have to be a deployment, and I am so thankful that I am able to enjoy this experience with Jim.

Remember, it’s only in the black of night you can see the stars and those stars will lead you back home. So don’t be afraid to make mistakes, to stumble, fall, cause most of the time the greatest rewards come from doing the things that scare you the most. Maybe you don’t get everything you asked for– maybe you’ll get more than you ever could’ve imagined. Who knows where life will take you. The road is long and in the end the journey is the destination. -One Tree Hill

4 thoughts on “Imperfection is beauty; madness is genius. And it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring. -Marilyn Monroe

  1. stylesme says:

    Wow! I think you finally understand what I have been trying to tell you and your brother “you have to give up something to get something”.
    I can’t wait untill you share you’re next experience.

  2. Kathleen Gilligan says:

    Very cool to hear (read? lol) what you do with your days! I am not envious of the yellow dust, but other than that it seems like you are really enjoying life. I’m so happy you’re able to be with Jim 🙂

Leave a Reply

