I’m a Jersey girl, living in a Korean world

(hums the Barbie Girl tune)

9.9999999 times out of 10, I have no idea what people are talking about around here. I usually just assume they are making fun of us Americans, but that’s just because I’m paranoid. I can say hello, goodbye, and thank you. Luckily, I have Korean books, flashcards, and the opportunity to attend Korean speaking classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays on post.

Over the weekend, Jim and I went to E Mart (smash between Walmart and Target) and AK Plaza (an expensive mall type area.) We took the 20 bus to these places and taxis’ home. Public transportation around here is great. And if I could read/speak Korean, it would be even better. To take the bus (which goes in a circle) anywhere, it’s only 1,100 won, which is roughly a little less than an American dollar.

E Mart was very overwhelming. People everywhere, carts that rotate 360 degrees, total chaos. I’m pretty sure we were the only Americans in there, we are very adventurous, but Jim said people probably assumed we knew what was going on because we managed to get there. So I just pretended to fit in and nodded a lot. I even sampled some food. The food section of the store was the best part. People yelling (in Korean) to try their food, so we did. I have no idea what I ate, but Jim always tries stuff first to make sure it isn’t shellfish or have nuts in it.

We bought tons of pastries, we LOVE the pastries here, and a lot of story books in Korean, not that we can read them. Since I have been eating so many delicious pastries, I have been going to the gym more, which isn’t hard because I never went at home, so more can mean once, but in this case it means three times. I went to yoga once, and swimming twice. I also walk to and from post, so that means even more goodies for my belly!!

AK Plaza is where you would catch the train. There is a lot of shopping to be done there and you can find some good deals, if you know what you’re looking for. I bought a Phillies hat for 33,000, won which is rough $29.  We also found Daiso, a Korean type 5 Below store. We spent about $80 there, okay so we went a wee bit overboard, but we got a lot of stuff we needed for the house, plus tons of Korean snacks. Our pantry has more Korean snacks in it than American snacks.

It’s still really cold here, which makes it hard to swim inside and then go outside with wet hair. But I have hopes that it’ll warm up soon. I was so lucky to escape the brutal weather of winter this year because we had such mild temperatures, but now it’s payback time and winter is kicking my ass here. Even though, it is officially Spring, now. I hope to go see the Cherry Blossom festival in Seoul during the next couple weeks. They run so many trips here, it’s hard not to attend every single one of them.

‘Adapt or die.’ As many times as we’ve heard it, the lesson doesn’t get easier. Problem is, we’re human. We want more than just to survive. We want love. We want success. So we fight like hell to get those things. Anything else feels like death. -Grey’s Anatomy

3 thoughts on “I’m a Jersey girl, living in a Korean world

  1. Kathleen Gilligan says:

    I really hope you go see the Cherry Blossom Festival… supposed to be beautiful! Please post pictures either here or on facebook if you do.

    Glad you are enjoying the Korean food. I think that would be one of the things I would be most worried about… although it is hard to go wrong with pastries 🙂

    How is Jim’s Korean? Did he take lessons before he went? Sounds like you know a lot already!

    • daydreamdancer04 says:

      He can read a lot of Korean, but doesn’t really know how to translate it. He has learned a lot from his Korean friends. I, on the other hand, give up on learning! It’s hard haha I’m kidding, but I don’t know if I’ll ever understand much.

Leave a Reply

