Saying goodbye to 2011

This year has had it’s up and downs, but overall it’s been fantastic. I may have only spent a total of about 4 1/2 months with Jim, but those 4 1/2 months were amazing. The best part about being  military family is treasuring the time you do get to spend together and not dwelling on the time that we have to spend apart. As Jim has already stepped in 2012, I am still here in 2011, reminiscing and recapping what wonderful memories we have made this year.

In chronological order:

1. Jim and I got married on February 19, 2011. The day before we got married it was 75 degrees in NEW JERSEY. It was an amazing pre-wedding day. The day of our wedding was still mild, considering the season, at about 45 degrees. It was EXTREMELY windy, but we still had a beautiful day surrounded by family, friends, and most importantly, each other.

2. Jim and I went to San Diego for our honeymoon. It was seasonably cold while we were there, but we were still able to see the city and enjoy each other’s company as newlyweds.

3. I graduated from Rutgers in May with a 3.67 GPA. It took me a little longer than most to graduate, taking a break here and there, but I finally did it! Now really, what am I going to do with my BA in English??

4. Jim also graduated in May from Army BCT at Fort Jackson, South Carolina. We made it through 10 weeks and 4 days with only letters to communicate. It was the hardest part of our relationship thus far, but we came out stronger than ever.

5. Jim and I turned 25! We are getting old, but I’m so glad we are able to grow old together.

6. I “moved” to Florida at the end of August through October to spend t two months with Jim while he completed his AIT at Corry Station in Pensacola. We were finally able to spend some quality time as a married couple without having to say goodbye to each other a few days later. Living near Jim and the beach was the best. Two of my two favorite things in the whole world!

7. Jim graduated from AIT in October and we spent out last two weeks in Florida saying goodbye to a place that we were starting to call home.

8. In November, Jim moved to Korea for a year, while I stayed back the states. Being apart is hard, but we are lucky to have daily communication which includes Facebook, email, and Skype.

9. On December 19, our Nephew Nolan Michael was born. He gets cuter every day and I can not wait to see him grow into a young man!

10. Jim and I spent our first Christmas as newlyweds apart, but we were lucky enough to be able to skype and exchange gifts. Jim spent Christmas working (lame) and I spent time with our families.

As I say goodbye to 2011, I can honestly say, even with its hard times (missing Jim most of the time and finding out that he was going to Korea,) this has been one of the best years ever. 2012 will bring even more memories and milestones. My best friend Ashley is getting married and I’m the matron of honor, I will be going to Korea for the first time ever, Jim and I will finally get our first house/apartment together (where that will be…time will only tell,) and maybe I’ll even get my first “real” job (even though I think 2013 will probably be the year for that.)

Tonight I am going to be eating an authentic Korean restaurant with my parents and seeing “New Year’s Eve.” I wanted to try to make the day normal because I’ve had about enough of the holiday spirit for one year. Going though Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, and Christmas without Jim was hard enough. Next year, we will be together for all of the holidays and that will be something to celebrate.

We do not grow absolutely, chronologically. We grow sometimes in one dimension, and not in another; unevenly. We grow partially. We are relative. We are mature in one realm, childish in another. The past, present, and future mingle and pull us backward, forward, or fix us in the present. We are made up of layers, cells, constellations. Anais Nin

Leave a Reply

